The Queen Is Not Dead

“The Queen Is Not Dead” is not your average SPIRITUAL FRONT album, but then again, nothing about the Italian suicidal pop outfit has ever been lukewarm or middle of the road anyway. In fact the eighth studio full-length from the Romans is “a homage to Morrissey’s and Johnny Marr’s legendary hymns of unquestionable beauty”, according to Simone Salvatori. The band’s founder and frontman claims THE SMITHS as a major musical inspiration for every member of SPIRITUAL FRONT.

The Italians recorded the album with the explicit aim to pay a respectful homage yet at the same time to stay away from cloning. Across fifteen cover tracks, which many consider sacred, the Italians stayed true to the original recordings, while pulling those songs closer to the sonic world of SPIRITUAL FRONT for example by adding strings and horn parts.

Salvatori and his fellow band members, guitarist Francesco Conte and Andrea Freda on drums, are joined by bass player Daniele Raggi, a string sextet and a horn player as well as a plethora of contributions by friends, among others including vocalist Durga McBroom (PINK FLOYD, BLUE PEARL), Riccardo Galati, Filippo Marcheggiani (BANCO DEL MUTUO SOCCORSO), Michal Stepien (MGŁA), Jairo Zavala (CALEXICO), King Dude, Traci Danielle (MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT), Riccardo Spilli (IL BALLETTO DI BRONZO) and Sasha Boole (ME AND THAT MAN).

Formed in 1999 as the solo project of Salvatori, SPIRITUAL FRONT have since released numerous full-length albums, singles, EPs and collaborations. The Italians describe their sound as “catchy ballads for heartbreaker nihilist youth”. Lyrically, SPIRITUAL FRONT have dealt with themes such as searching for self-identity, sexuality, harsh realities and angry break-ups, which are often tinted with sarcasm, nihilism, and a biting sense of humour.

Furthermore, the Italians have collaborated with renowned artists such as LYDIA LUNCH, ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO, and many others, while also contributing to the soundtracks of the TV series “Las Vegas” and the motion picture “Saw 2” as well as further independent films, theatre productions, and modern ballet. SPIRITUAL FRONT are paying a heartfelt tribute to THE SMITHS, who have accidentally composed the soundtrack of their lives, forever bonding their greatest emotions to notes and words.

Tracks list:

1. Still Ill (03:23)
2. Ask (03:25)
3. There Is A Light That Never Goes Out (04:04)
4. How Soon Is Now? (04:56)
5. This Charming Man (02:45)
6. Girl Afraid (02:46)
7. Panic (02:36)
8. Bigmouth Strikes Again (03:20)
9. Girlfriend In A Coma (02:02)
10. The Boy With The Thorn In His Side (03:21)
11. Barbarism Begins At Home (03:52)
12. What Difference Does It Make? (03:50)
13. Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want (01:49)
14. Shoplifters Of The World Unite (03:03)
15. The Queen Is Dead (04:14)

16. The Queen Is Dead (Orchestral Version) (02:41)
17. Ask (Acoustic Alt. Version) (03:11)
18. Bigmouth Strikes Again (Acoustic Alt. Version) (03:01)
19. What Difference Does It Make? (Orchestral Version) (02:38)
20. Barbarism Begins At Home (Strings Version) (03:21)
21. Shoplifters Of The World Unite (Acoustic Alt. Version) (03:00)
22. Girl Afraid (Main Theme) (01:30)
23. Panic (Acoustic Alt. Version) (02:31)
24. There Is A Light That Never Goes Out (Acoustic Alt. Version) (03:59)
25. The Boy With The Thorn In His Side (Epilogue) (01:36)
26. How Soon Is Now? (Recorded Live In The Etruscan Tomb) (03:27)

Released: July 21, 2023

Buy at our shop here:



| SF plays The Smiths

Upcoming album

Hello, we are glad to announce you that our new upcoming album ‘The queen is not dead, Spiritual Front plays The Smiths’ will be mixed by…

Read more

Other albums

Songs For The Will / 02.08.1999

Twin Horses / 15.12.2014

BH in BS / 13.11.2015

Amour Braque / 23.03.2018